Daily Advent Prayers

This year the national setting invites the entire church to join us in a season of collective prayer during Advent. Each day during Advent we will post a prayer at noon Eastern on our social media platforms and website (12 noon Eastern, 11 AM Central, 10 AM Mountain, 9 AM Pacific, 7 AM Hawaii).

If you are so led, we invite you to pause for 5 minutes each day and pray the prayer with us, or in any way the Spirit may lead, knowing many others in the church will be praying with you.

Each Sunday, a reflection will precede the prayer. All of the reflections and prayers will live here when posted.

Why pray together? Because our prayers are a repository of hope. Sometimes hope is confused with wishful thinking, but the biblical sense of hope is very different.

In scripture, hope exists as a secure assurance, a trust placed in a trustworthy God. Hope waits and endures. It helps us during significant trials or times of distress. It offers us security that the kin-dom will come, and though we cannot see it right now, our work is not in vain. Hope does not disappoint. (Romans 5:5)


Join together in prayer (archive coming soon!)


    Additional Advent Resources:

    Image contains examples from the Advent Prayers Toolkit, including prayer videos for YouTube and Facebook, graphics for Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, and a planning calendar.

    Advent Prayers Toolkit

    Download the Advent Prayers Toolkit for free from UCC Resources. The toolkit includes weekly prayer videos (for websites, YouTube, or social media), Bible Verse images (for websites, emails, bulletins, or social media), and a planning calendar for church communications through Advent.


    Christmas Fund Pension Boards Poster: Good News...Great Joy...All the People.

    The Christmas Fund 2021: Special Mission Offering

    Order and download promotional materials for the Pension Boards’ Christmas Fund 2021, the Special Mission Offering for the Veterans of the Cross and the Emergency Fund. The Christmas Fund is part of the “5 for 5” Special Mission Offerings

    Download additional Christmas Fund promotional materials, including worship resources for Advent 2021.


    A United Church of Christ Christmas Pageant 2020. Brought to you by the National Setting of the United Church of Christ. Includes a graphic of a baby in a manger.

    A United Church of Christ Christmas Pageant 2020

    Created for 2020, the Christmas Pageant created by the National Setting of the United Church of Christ still rings true for a year of continued uncertainty and adaptation. The free collection includes: “Lessons and Carols,” “A Very UCC Christmas,” and music videos for 11 hymns, specially recorded by UCC musicians and ministry partners.

    Description: The year is 2020. There is a global health pandemic, there is a pandemic of racism and spreading awareness of the impacts within our systems, and there is more isolation, despair, and hopelessness than in recent collective memory. Many churches have not met in person for months, and many are trying to find safe ways to gather in alignment with their contexts, recommendations from public health experts, and the mental health of their people. Christmas is approaching, and everything seems to be going wrong. Journey with First Reformed Congregational UCC (read: Any UCC Church) in their struggle to find the baby Jesus and find hope.


    Support this work

    The Annual Fund

    Daily Advent Prayers and other resources like this are made possible by your generous donations to the United Church of Christ Annual Fund. As you are able, consider making a year-end donation to support our shared Mission: United in Spirit and inspired by God’s grace, we welcome all, love all, and seek justice for all.