(Top) the Rev. William C. Imesand the Rev. Ansley Coe Throckmorton.
(Bottom) the Rev. Armin Schmidt and the Rev. Rosemary McCombs Maxey.

Throckmorton to retire in August

The Rev. Ansley Coe Throckmorton, ninth president of Bangor Theological Seminary and the first woman to hold this honor, will pass the presidential torch when she retires in August and welcomes her successor, the Rev. William C. Imes.

Throckmorton began her tenure as Bangor's president in 1995. From 1986 to 1995, she was General Secretary of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries' Division of Education and Publication. In 1978, she became the first woman in the UCC to serve as a senior pastor, with her ministry at Hammond Street Congregational UCC.

Imes has been pastor of First Parish UCC in Brunswick, Maine, since 1985. He currently is vice-moderator of the Maine Conference and has been on the UCC's Office for Church Life and Leadership Theology Task Force. He was a corporate member of the UC Board for Homeland Ministries.

Schmidt retires; Maxey is interim

After 11 years as executive director of the UCC's Council for American Indian Ministry (CAIM), the Rev. Armin Schmidt will retire July 31. Succeeding him as interim executive director will be the Rev. Rosemary McCombs Maxey.

Schmidt has served local churches in Webster Groves, Mo., and Moravia, N.Y. He also has served as an agricultural fraternal worker in the Philippines (with his wife, Connie) and with A.D. Magazine and Heifer Project.

Maxey lives in Oklahoma and is a member of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma. She has served the last two years as chair of CAIM's board of directors and is a former pastor in Rocky Ridge, Md.

CAIM's office will remain in Minnesota but the mailing address will change to: 9378 E 123, Dustin, OK 74839; 918-656-3725.

Pastoral Changes

Bagby, Michelle Cambridge MA to Congr. Christian, Lodi CA
Callaghan, Scott Stevens Point WI to Peace UCC, Fort Wayne IN
Carey, Herbert Chicago IL to Mount Tabor UCC, Milwaukee WI
Donovan, Timothy to United, Shirley MA
Drewsen III, Edmund T. Chagrin Falls OH to Pilgrim UCC, Fond du Lac WI
Felletter, Patricia P. to Central Village Congr./First Congr., Plainfield CT
Gentry, Jr., William to First Congr. UCC, McGregor IA
Grant, Lisa J. Coleridge NE to Congr. UCC, Maywood, IN
Gray, Linda S. Madbury NH to Congr., Boscawen NH
Hartman, Sara A. Cecil WI to Retired
MacArthur, Sharon Berkeley CA to Sycamore Congr. UCC, El Cerrito CA
McClure, Elizabeth A. Springfield MA to Congr., Fairhaven MA
Moore, Daniel J. Dundee OH to Congr. UCC, Denmark IA
Olapade, Wendy M. Newton MA to First, Reading MA
Rardin, Jared A. South Britain CT to South Congr., Concord NH
Roman-Gloro, Danny Cleveland Heights OH to Pleasant, Arlington MA
Schafbuch, Richard Marengo IA to Trinity UCC, Marengo IA
Solimine, Jeannette A. San Francisco CA to Plymouth Congr., Colfax WA
Stack, Christine N. Wausau WI to Congr., Whitewater WI
Utke, Ann Waterford MI to Community UCC, Greendale WI
Whiley, Lori to Bethany, Lynn MA
Williams Robert Allison IA to Federated UCC, Jewell IA
Yocum, Maria E. Hickory NC to Bethel UCC, Hickory NC


Hyde, F. E. 91, 2/21/01 Served IL, MI, NC, OH and Ontario, Canada, churches
Scruton, Norman 89, 1/10/01 Served ME, NH, ND and WA churches
Trump, Richard 72, 3/14/01 Served OH, NY and WI churches

Missionary Appointments
(All missionary appointments are made by the Common Global Ministries Board of the UCC/Disciples)

Bobbitt, Jodi and Tim to another three-year term with the Disciples of Christ Church in Argentina. He will continue to serve as pastor of the Saavedra Congr. in Buenos Aires and she will continue her work with projects related to the health ministry.

Bunker, Grace S. Tucson AZ to a four-year term with the Jaffna Diocese (Sri Lanka) of the Church of South India as an English teacher and to work in the women's training programs of Uduvil Girls' School.

Chan, Judy to a three-year term with the Hong Kong Christian Council. Responsible for communications for the Council, the ecumenical radio broadcasting ministry, English publications and ecumenical partnerships in Hong Kong and overseas.

Dobson, Kenneth C. to a three-year term with the Church of Christ in Thailand as a teacher in Christian Ministry at the Christian College in Nakhonpathom.

Dobson, Michal T. to a three-year term with the Church of Christ in Thailand assigned to the Chiang Mai International School as an elementary teacher and assistant in the development of curriculum.

Gourdet, Daniel and Sandra to serve a three-year term with the Zimbabwe Synod of the United Congr. Church of Southern Africa. He will serve as a development project consultant in Bulawayo and she will assist with the Children's AIDS work and local church ministries.

Higginbotham, Carolyn R. and James I. to serve a special two-four month term through the United Board for Christian Higher Education in Asia, assigned to Nanjing Seminary, Nanjing, China. He will serve as a teacher of English at Nanjing University and she will serve a Professor of Old Testament.

Knoll, Martha J. and Nathan L. to serve another three-year term with Kodaikanal International School in India. She will review and implement the school's development and social outreach program and be involved in setting up health programs in the community and he will teach in the school's development and social outreach program focusing on local and regional organizations and teach classes in the service program.

Lovaas, Scott D. to serve another four-year term with the Cape Town City Mission, Cape Town, South Africa, as a social worker.

Marsh, Anne G. to serve another four-year term with the Cape Town City Mission, Cape Town, South Africa.

Nichols, Catherine A. to serve a four-year term with the Sabeel Ecumenical Liberation theology Center in Jerusalem as a program associate in interpretation and writing.

Searles, The Rev. Douglas J. and Elizabeth J. to serve a three-year term with the Sichuan TV and Radio University in Chengdu, China, as English teachers.

West, Dorothy F. to serve a two-year term with the Lithuania Christian College in Klaipeda as a professor in the Department of Sociology.