Search committees named for two UCC officers

Search committees named for two UCC officers

November 13, 2014
Written by Staff Reports

The Executive Council and the board of directors of Local Church Ministries have each acted independently and named a search committee to seek, respectively, one candidate for General Minister and President and one candidate for Executive Minister of Local Church Ministries. Because the five members of the new Collegium of officers were elected to staggered terms, the initial terms of these two will expire next year.
      However, the two current officers, John H. Thomas and José A. Malayang, are eligible for renomination.
      The two persons selected by the search committees will be presented to General Synod 23, to be held in Kansas City, Mo., July 13-17, 2001, for call by election to full, four-year terms.
      Each committee will meet in September, November and January and, if necessary, in February. They will select the recommended candidates in early March, to be presented, respectively, to the Executive Council (for General Minister and President) and to the LCM Board (for the LCM Executive Minister) at their spring meetings.
      Nominations and self-applications may be sent to General Minister and President Search, or Local Church Ministries Executive Search, P.O. Box 391, Brookfield, MA 01506.
      The deadline for receipt of completed applications is 6 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 3, at the above address.
      The Rev. Richard Sparrow, Associate Conference Minister in the Massachusetts Conference, will staff both committees. The members of the two committees are listed below:

General Minister and President search committee:

John Lardin, Convener—Belleville, Mich.
The Rev. Elizabeth Aguilar—Medfield, Maine
Dale Bishop—Cleveland, Ohio
Louis Bluecoat—Eagle Butte, S.D.
Charles Brown—Cleveland, Ohio
The Rev. Betsy Bueschel—Winnetka, Ill.
Karna Burkeen—Lancaster, Pa.
Rita Fiero—Windsor, Conn.
The Rev. David Greenhaw—St. Louis, Mo.
Jason Henderson—Nashua, N.H.
Jeanette Kinaka—Kahului, Hawaii
The Rev. Linda Miller-Pretz—Evans City, Pa.
Sharon Moos—Bismarck, N.D.
The Rev. Jack Seville—Bismarck, N.D.
The Rev. Rita Wilbur—Houston, Texas

Local Church Ministries search committee:

Cheryl Cramer, LCM Chair—New Orleans, La.
Dennis Apuan—Colorado Springs, Colo.
Leigh Greenhaw—St. Louis, Mo.
Wilma Lawrence—Minneapolis, Minn.
Gay McCormick—Westminster, Md.
Arnold Miller—Boca Raton, Fla.
The Rev. F. Russell Mitman, Jr.—Collegeville, Pa.
Frank Morris, Sr.—Desota, Texas
The Rev. Marilyn Pagan—Chicago, Ill.
Aaron Sinay—Greenwich, Conn.
Eva Smith—Chicago, Ill.

UCC Presidents to date:

When the United Church of Christ was formed in 1957 in Cleveland with the union of the Congregational Christian Churches and the Evangelical and Reformed Church, it had two Co- Presidents: James E. Wagner and Fred Hoskins. Since then it has had six presidents:

Ben M. Herbster—1961-1969
Robert V. Moss, Jr.—1969-1976
Joseph H. Evans—1976-1977
Avery D. Post—1977-1989
Paul H. Sherry—1989-1999
John H. Thomas—1999-

Effective July 1, 2000, the President is now called the General Minister and President. John H. Thomas is the UCC's first General Minister and President and will serve at least until Oct. 1, 2001. At General Synod 23 in July 2001 he will be eligible for renomination to a full four-year term. If called by election by the General Synods in 2001 and 2005, he could serve 10 years, until 2009.

Please review our Community Guidelines before posting a comment. If you have any questions, contact us.

Section Menu