Outstanding ministries, laypersons honored at Synod

Outstanding ministries, laypersons honored at Synod

September 30, 2005
Written by Daniel Hazard

Numerous individuals, congregations, organizations and ministries received special recognition during the UCC’s General Synod, held July 1-5 in Atlanta. Here’s a listing of those who were honored:

General Synod 25 Honorees

The Rev. Walter Brueggemann, UCC minister, author, teacher and scholar; retired Professor of Old Testament at Columbia Theological Seminary in Atlanta.

The Rev. Andrew Young, UCC minister and civil rights leader, former U.S. Representative, U.N. Ambassador and Atlanta mayor, former Executive Director of Southern Christian Leadership Conference.

Justice and Witness Ministries Awards

The Nkosi Johnson Youth/Young Adult Award to the Youth Global Experiential Learning Initiative, a joint project of Little River UCC in Annandale, Va., Christ Congregational UCC in Silver Spring, Md., and Heritage UCC in Baltimore, MD.

The Martha Dayag Laity Award to Kim Bobo, founding executive director of Interfaith Worker Justice, a national Chicago-based organization.

The Oliver Powell Clergy Award to the Rev. Hector Lopez, Central Pacific Conference Minister and a founding member of the UCC’s Council on Racial and Ethnic Ministries.

The Dorothy Day Grassroots Award to the Hawaiian Culture and Spirituality Support Group, working to allow Indigenous Hawaiian inmates to practice their non-Christian religion in prison.

The Multiracial/Multicultural, Just- Peace, Open-and-Affirming, Accessible-to- All Local Church Award to Plymouth UCC in Milwaukee, Wis.

The Antoinette Brown Awards: Honoring Women in Ministry, Local Church Ministries

The Rev. Ruth M. Brandon

The Rev. Barbara Brown Zikmund

The Burning Bush Award, Christians for Justice Action

The Rev. Russell L. Bennett of Tulsa, Okla.

The Pacific Islanders and Asian American Ministries Award

The late Rev. Angel Benigno Taglucop, posthumous recognition for starting new Filipino congregations in the 1980s.

Recognition of Outstanding Contributions to Church Development, Local Church Ministries

Southeast Conference, for starting new congregations and reaching out to existing churches.

Iglesia Evangélica Unida de Puerto Rico Congregacíon de Yuaco, for helping to found six new churches.

Excellence in Teaching Awards, Local Church Ministries

Katherine Banks, North Port (Fla.) UCC

Janice Hawthorne Timm, United Church of Cloverdale (Calif.)

Eileen Hoard, Shadow Rock UCC, Phoenix, Ariz.

The Rev. Ted E. Huffman, First Congregational UCC, Rapid City, S.D.

Tom Johnson, Community of Reconciliation UCC, Pittsburgh

UCC Disabilities Ministries Award

Nancy Phipps, Kansas-Oklahoma Conference

UCC Disabilities Ministries, Mental Illness Network Dell Award

Plymouth Congregational UCC in Seattle, Wash.

The Pilgrim Press Mayflower Awards, Local Church Ministries

Mayflower Award for Spirituality: Daniel Gebhardt, for his book, "I Am This One Walking Beside Me: Meditations of an HIV Man"

Mayflower Award for Church and Society: Deborah L. Plummer, for her book, "Racing Across the Lines: Changing Race Relations Through Friendships"

Mayflower Award for Leadership: The Rev. George B. Thompson Jr., for his book, "Treasures in Clay Jars: New Ways to Understand Your Church"

The Mayflower Award for Heritage: The Rev. Barbara Brown Zikmund, series editor, "The Living Theological Heritage of the United Church of Christ"

Wider Church Ministries Award

Carl A. Bade, UCC Volunteer Ministries coordinator from 1954-1991 Global Ministries Awards of Affirmation, Wider Church Ministries

The Kukhany’Okusha Zion Church, Kingdom of Swaziland

Presbyterian Church, Republic of Korea

The Women’s Network, Restoration, Life and Peace Commission of the Evangelical Council of Churches in Colombia.

The Waldensian Church in Italy

Francisco de Vasconcelos, moderator of the Protestant Church in East Timor.

Jean Zaru of the Ramallah Friends (Quaker) Meeting in Palestine.

Honored Laywomen Awards (two per Conference)

Helen Adamson, United Black Christians
Beverly Albertson, Indiana-Kentucky
Carol Alexander, Ohio
Marylou L. Anderson, Florida
Rebecca Andon, N. California-Nevada
Danni Bangert, Rocky Mountain
Jeanne Badeau Barnett, Central Atlantic
Linda Buchs—Hammonds, Wisconsin
Jane Buck, Illinois South
Susan Butler Woodward, Connecticut
Nancy Claycomb, Penn West
Norma Comins, Connecticut
Nancy Cope, Ohio
Belva Davis, N. California-Nevada
Joy Davis, N. California-Nevada
Winifred E. Deditius, Nebraska
Phyllis Dent, Missouri Mid—South
Lola DeRouchie, New York
Onra H. Dillard, United Black Christians
Reverta Drags Wolf, Council for American Indian Ministry
Susan M. Duncan, Rocky Mountain
Francesca Evans, Maine
Sylvia Ferrell-Jones, Massachusetts
Carmen Flores-Rance, Illinois
Donna Fried, Pennsylvania Southeast
Anne Frost, Pennsylvania Central
Anita K. Fussell, Nebraska
Emma Gardner, Southern
Donna Gentry, Southwest
Lois J. Gordon, Nebraska
Bette Graves-Thomas, Southeast
Mary Lou Gruebele, South Dakota
Dawn Hammond, Massachusetts
Karen Handke, Iowa
Signe Hardesty, S. California-Nevada
Mary Hathaway, Illinois
Sharon Haun, Kansas-Oklahoma
Mary Hazeltine, Rhode Island
Sheila Helgerson, Central Atlantic
Jerry L. Higgs, Indiana-Kentucky
Jean Hough, Montana-N. Wyoming
Marylu Hubbe, Pacific Northwest
Bonnie Johnson, Minnesota
Deborah Kleiboeker, Illinois South
Janel Kolar, Northern Plains
Linda Kolterman, South Central
Nancy Lawrence, Massachusetts
Patricia LeBoutillier, Iowa
Adele Little Dog, Council for American Indian Ministry
Jeanne Mantsh, Wisconsin
Punipuao L. Maosi, Pacific Islander-Asian American Ministries
Aida Luz Mattos, Council for Hispanic Ministries
Dorthea J. Miller, Kansas-Oklahoma
Elaine Miller, South Dakota
Donna L. Moorhead, New York
Margaret Muenstermann, Southeast
Sandy Muller, Missouri Mid-South
Natalie Phillips, Connecticut
Lois F. Plimpton, New Hampshire
Kay Randels, Michigan
Margaret Ransom, Central Pacific
Alice B. Robinson, Pennsylvania Southeast
Lynn Rogala, Illinois
Ilo Schmid, Central Pacific
Carolyn Schmidt, Pennsylvania Southeast
Jeanette Seaman, Penn Northeast
Priscella J. Self, Illinois South
Mila Smith, Iowa
Carol Spangenburg, Penn Northeast
Carol Stanley, Pacific Northwest
Monine Stebbins, Central Pacific
Rhonda Stockglausner, Missouri-Midsouth
Marian Thome, Central Atlantic
Ruth Varner, Southern
Reba Walker, Northern Plains
Donna Wenzel, Indiana-Kentucky
Helen Wolfe, New York
Nell Wyley, Rocky Mountain
Imogene Yegerlehner, Indiana-Kentucky 

Please review our Community Guidelines before posting a comment. If you have any questions, contact us.

Section Menu

Contact Info