UCC Women's Ministry seeks 2011 Antoinette Brown nominees

UCC Women's Ministry seeks 2011 Antoinette Brown nominees

January 11, 2011
Written by Gregg Brekke

The Women's Ministry of the national setting of the United Church of Christ is inviting nominations for the 2011 Antoinette Brown award to be presented at General Synod 28 in Tampa, Fla., June 30 - July 5. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 1, 2011.

First presented at the 10th General Synod, the award is named for the Rev. Antoinette Brown (1825-1921), the first woman formally ordained to the Christian ministry in a major Protestant denomination in America. Formerly given by the UCC's Coordinating Center for Women in Church and Society, the award is now facilitated through Local Church Ministries.

Women nominated need to hold ordained ministerial standing in the UCC, exemplify the contributions women can make through ordained ministry, have provided outstanding ministry in a parish or other church related institutions, including women in specialized ministry, and have a sensitivity concerning the challenges and possibilities of women in ministry and advocacy on behalf of all women in the church.

A selection committee comprised of representatives from the UCC's four Covenanted Ministries, the Council of Conference Ministers and a former Antoinette Brown recipient, consider nominees for selection. The award will be presented to the two recipients serving in ordained ministry at a luncheon held in their honor during General Synod 28.

More information, including the nomination form and a list of past award recipients, is available as a PDF download and at the Women's Ministry page.

Please review our Community Guidelines before posting a comment. If you have any questions, contact us.

Contact Info